31 Days of Halloween, Day 26: Dawn of the Dead (2004)

large_yfqsgzw6aqymbjieiq0y9eb1rglAfter mentioning this in my recommendations a few days ago, I realized it was high time to give this one a re-watch.

This is still one of my favorite “the beginning of the apocalypse” scenes ever.  And then when they finally get to the mall and the Muzak version of “Don’t Worry Be Happy” is playing?  The lounge cover of Disturbed’s “Down with the Sickness” played later in the movie is awesome as well.

I really love the group dynamics in this movie, how the original survivors meet up with the mall cops and then a second group of survivors.  I love seeing Phil – I mean, Ty Burrell – play a super dickhead.  I also really like Sarah Polley as an actress.  The moments of terror are interspersed with lighter moments, which is something many horror movie remakes don’t seem to realize is needed.

The one change from the original that I wasn’t so fond of was making the zombies fast.  While it does add a lot of scariness, I just feel like zombies should be slow!  But who really is to say how fast or slow real zombies would be, so I can forgive it.

On that note, I’m going to recommend movies with fast zombies:

  • 28 Days Later (2002) – At least they explained the speedy zombies, by not calling them zombies and instead calling it the Rage virus.
  • World War Z (2013) – This was explained in great detail in the book (can’t remember if they mention it in the movie) – about how the zombie virus wants to spread quickly, hence new zombies being faster, and also how the zombies slow with colder temperatures, hence people fleeing to Canada.
  • Zombieland (2009) – This is more comedy than horror but a great ride all the same.
Leave a Reply

