what i’ve been up to

Since the end of Camp Nanowrimo – or, let’s face it, midway through Camp Nanowrimo – I haven’t been doing a whole lot of writing.  I did get a good 28,000+ words written on Scavengers, but I got sidetracked when I realized that my map for Scavengers was way off from my map for Hitchhikers.  This led to me discovering an awesome new way to create a fictional map on top of a real map.  Google Maps actually allows you to insert “pins” and write little notes about various points on the map.  So instead of finishing Scavengers, I ended up combing through Hitchhikers and Scavengers and mapping them out.

Two other big things have been eating up my time (three if you count Candy Crush Saga…): my handbalancing class and my Halloween costume.

My friend Lisa has been taking handbalancing at Esh Aerial Arts for about 6-8 months now and since I’ve always wanted to be able to hold a handstand for more than 2 seconds, and since I’ve set flying trapeze aside for the time being, I signed up for a 7-week session.  Turns out a solid handstand is going to be a long journey for me.  Lisa is getting to the point where she can almost hit it, but I can barely kick up sometimes.  I’ve also started developing some shoulder discomfort, so I think I’ll be alternating sessions of handbalancing with a second silks class.

My Halloween costume this year is inspired by The Night Circus – so steampunk, black & white, circus-y, with a pop of red.  I love this Simplicity pattern on the right, but I have tried to make a jacket for myself and it’s a huge pain in the ass.  So I dug in my closet and found a long black wool coat that I’m going to rip apart and refashion to look like this.  Plus it will actually be warm should we get another Halloween blizzard.  I have patterns for corsets and skirts so those shouldn’t be a problem, and I found a tutorial to make the mini top hat.

So, this is what I’ve been doing instead of writing.  Now that the fall weather is creeping back in, I’m looking forward to actually getting more writing done.

Leave a Reply

